Views and opinions are my own – Or are they?

I’ve had this on my mind for a while now so thought I’d write something down. Maybe it’s a little controversial and I’m sure not everyone will agree.   I see all the time on the bottom of email or social media profiles

Views and opinions are my own and do not represent those of my institution

and I’m not sure I agree. Institutions are made up of people and cultures, each one of those people have opinions, views and values which contribute to that culture. They contribute to how we interact with those who engage with our  institutions.  By default then, don’t those opinions, views and values become those of the institution simple because of those people?

Maybe this just highlights the importance of values base recruitment, if there is such a thing. Maybe it’s me thinking too much about something that doesn’t really matter. Or maybe institutions should start using the strap line

Views, opinions and values are those of all who work here

One thought on “Views and opinions are my own – Or are they?

  1. It’s an interesting and important point, Carl. An organisational culture that promotes the public sharing of opinions empowers individuals and encourages collaboration. I see this as a vital aspect of “open” initiatives.

    Like

Leave a Reply

